Timetables are subject to change

Further information about the termly content is provided in Year Group Meetings and in the subsequent letters from class teachers.

For information on phonics and reading schemes used at New End, please click on the link below:

Click HERE to go the the school’s remote /  home learning platform if required.

Reception is part of the Early Years Foundation Stage.

What is the Early Years Foundation Stage?

The Early Years Foundation Stage is how the Government and early years professionals describe the time in your child’s life between birth and age 5. Reception is the final year of the EYFS.

The curriculum for the EYFS should underpin all future learning by promoting children’s development in the 7 areas of learning which are:

The Three Prime Areas:

  • Communication and Language
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Physical Development

Four Specific Areas:

  • Mathematics
  • Literacy
  • Understanding of the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

These 7 areas are used to plan your child’s learning and activities. We will support your child by ensuring that the activities are suited to their unique needs. This is similar to the curriculum in primary school but it’s suitable for very young children, and it’s designed to be really flexible so that we can follow your child’s unique needs and interests.

Progress, examples of work and observations are noted and recorded throughout the year. At New End we use Tapestry to create a portfolio of every child’s learning journey.  Parents can add comments and upload information and photographs which show developmental milestones achieved at home.  An end of year report is completed informing parents of their child’s progress in the 7 areas.

The Reception Baseline Assessment (RBA) is a statutory assessment which is carried out by staff for all eligible children within the first six weeks of starting reception. This is carried out on a one-to-one basis and is used for measuring the progress primary schools make with their pupils.

During Reception your child will be assessed in the six areas of learning known as the Early Learning Goals. This is called the Foundation Stage Profile. This assessment is required for all children in the Foundation Stage. It includes assessing early reading, writing, and mathematical skills.

Explaining the Early Years Assessment Profile